So as I’m cleaning out the last few pieces of stuff that I have in my soon-to-be-closed office, I get a phone call from one of my customers.
“We’ve got two sites down, we need you on the phone to work them. Now.”
I already knew about the two outages, and when I had checked over an hour ago, both problems were being handled by the groups that need to fix them. Both were close to being fixed, and actually one had been proven to be a possible bad router. But no, it’s time to drop everything and set course at Mach 47 to get back home to get on a computer (since we now have NONE at the soon-to-be-closed office). I grab a box of stuff and run out to the car and make the 45 minute drive in under 23 minutes. Just as I get past the halfway point between work/home, my cell phone rings again…
“Oh, sorry to call but one of the sites came up an hour ago and we’re replacing the router on the second one. Cancel Panic.”
Ugh. Now I have to drive back to get the rest of the stuff tomorrow/next week since I have calls all the rest of the day and can’t spend two hours again driving back and forth.

