Yesterday a nice installer from Starlight came out and installed a huge UHF antenna in my attic (some that I could have done, but I was 100% sure it would go on the roof, but that’s another debate). Anyhow, the signal directly from the antenna was perfect. Crisp, sharp, no static on analog, life was good.
Then he connected it to my multiswitch.
The one thing I absolutely hate about being an early adapter with HDTV is that stations don’t always broadcast during the day. And they on occasion take down the transmitters because of upgrades, etc. Because I knew of the work that WISE-DT was doing, it was 100% plausible that they would be off the air at 10:00AM. Also, my lovely $3,000 TV doesn’t have a signal strength meter. So I can’t tell if things are better or not. Well, 39 is coming in just fine (just like when it’s on my set-top antenna) and 23 in Marion is dead. I’ve never been able to get a lockon with it during the day, so I sign the form and off home the installer goes.
Last night, after the sun had pretty much set, I sit down and start getting ready to enjoy my three-four HDTV channels. I tell the TV to lock on again, expect this time, it can’t even get 39. Now at this point I’m pissed. I move the antenna over to the analog interface and it’s crap. Static all over the place.
When the installer was out here, he plugged the antenna into the OTA port on my multiswitch, which he thought was amplified. It isn’t apparently. So now tomorrow (maybe, if I’m lucky) he will show up back out here with an amplifier and slap it on.
This whole HDTV thing is getting pretty annoying, I’d really like to watch something other than “The Best of (insert east coast state here)” on PBS.

