I remember a day where I was really proud of my movie collection. It was mostly sci-fi crap, but it really said a whole bunch about me.
Today, it’s just taking up space in my kitchen.

During the repaint of the playroom (pictures will be posted after it’s done), it was decided that the entertainment center in the room needed to be replaced. The only word I could use to describe it is “Oak Monolith”. Unfortunately by moving down to the smaller size unit, it mean we also lost tons of storage for videos, etc.
So now I’m left with the enviable task of sorting out what I’m going to keep and what is getting tossed. Mostly everything that isn’t available on DVD will be donated to Badwill, the rest will end up in a landfill. Which is sad, seeing as how I paid top dollar (at the time) for most of these movies. So far, the only things I’m keeping are the Cliff ‘Em All tape, a King’s X tape, and a couple of videos from the trips DeAnn and I won with GTE.
But now I look at my DVD collection (which is quite paltry to some) and I think “When the hell am I going to watch these?”. Seriously, I got my Sports Night fix by Dec 26th, there are three seasons of Stargate SG-1 which I haven’t even bought yet, and I haven’t even started to think about buying any of the Clancy movies.
Maybe it’s the realization that over $500 of disposable income has been sitting in an entertainment center for five years. Or maybe it’s just that I’m getting older.

