When it comes to technology in the automotive industry, I’m clueless. I could barely change my own oil (more out of a lack of confidence in my skills than actually turning the wrenches) and honestly I don’t keep a close eye on what goes on in the industry. Looks like there are some cool toys coming out…
Over the weekend, the van’s battery died (the old one, not the new, spiffy one). One of the kids plugged in something to the voltage converter, and that drained the battery enough to kill it. So after a quick call to the motor club (my jumpers were pitched a long time ago) they showed up in a pickup trunk with this little booksized unit with two cables. Maybe that’s to check the voltage on the battery? Hooks it up, hits a switch and says “OK, try it”. Van starts right up.
Gotta love technology…
Update: @#$*&^@#*& Technology. It was dead when I went out an hour later. Ripped out the monster battery and took it to AutoZone for testing. After an hour of charging/testing, it tested fine. Slapped it back in the van and it started. Giving it an hour to see if it starts. If it doesn’t, I’ll rip it back out and recharge it, then drive it to the repair shop later today.

