The Good: Pink Floyd is reforming for the Live8 concert in London.
The Bad: David Gilmour’s press release:

“Like most people, I want to do everything I can to persuade the G8 leaders to make huge commitments to the relief of poverty and increased air to the third world. It’s crazy that America gives such a paltry percentage of its GMP to the starving nations. Any squabbles Roger and the band have had in the past are so petty in this context, and if re-forming for this concert will help focus attention then it’s got to be worthwhile.”

The Ugly: Where the hell do I start? Using Mr. Gilmour’s logic, I’m sure that in the case where he’s loaned money to someone who is extremely poor; he has forgiven the debt immediately because he doesn’t want to be “crazy” like us Americans.
Oh wait that’s right, days before I started hammering Derek with IMs about his probable pending trip to London, Bush and Blair had already started pushing for debt relief. And of course Bush annouced back in 2003 when Geldof was busy filming television shows a huge and sweeping package for AIDS relief in Africa.
Remember our stingy tsunami relief that eventually totalled over $350 million dollars BEFORE private donations were tallied? How about the well publicized joke that George Bush was so stupid that he sent an Aircraft Carrier to a disaster site.
I am so tired of the snivelling, self-righteous crap that comes out of these Elitist assholes mouths everyday about how we should “do more” but then demand that venues spends hours pulling all the Brown M&Ms out of the damn bag.
Dave, I love your music but you and your buddies are full of crap. When you start sending off lump sums of your touring dollars to hellp the poor, then I might listen more.
(Disclaimer: I actually do support the G8’s debt relief…but I also love to point out hyprocrisy when it rears it’s self-righteous head.)

