Go see this movie.
I’m an obvious sci-fi fan, been one since I made my parents take me to Star Wars countless times in 1977. And while some of the shows have been a bit lame (i.e., the original Battlestar Galactica), as the years have gone by the writing and the effects have become endlessly better.
What this means of course as the genre becomes more popular, lots of stuff comes out. Some of it succeeds (i.e. the new Battlestar Galactica), and some of it fails (i.e. Firefly). Serenity was born from the ashes of Firefly, it has all the original characters flying the same ship in a nicely tied up movie which closes a few storylines and opens one or two more.
What does this mean? Well, I don’t know if the movie will do well enough to garner enough support for a sequel, a rebirth of the series, or even a Holiday Special.
But as I said before, go and see this movie.

