Movie theaters may ask to jam cell phones

Movie theater owners faced with falling attendance are considering asking federal authorities for permission to jam cell phone reception in an attempt to stop annoying conversations during films, the head of the industry’s trade group said on Tuesday.
Industry leaders at the ShoWest conference for theater owners want to find ways to win back crowds.

I honestly cannot think of a better reason to NOT attend a movie, especially if my local theatre decides to take part (which I highly doubt). I am on call 24×7. No, obviously I’m not a doctor. But my job requires me to be reachable 100% of the time, which has involved me being paged out at DisneyWorld, at the movies, at dinner, etc. And the best way my customers and my employer can get a hold of me is my CrackBerry.
But movie theaters aren’t thinking of this. They think only of the annoying teenager who decides to hold a conversation during a movie, so therefore we must punish the audience as a whole and jam cell phones. Whatever happened to someone asking someone to leave the theatre when they are being annoying? While they might gain a few customers who will enjoy the silence, the rest of us will stay at home, eating microwave popcorn and watch HD-PPV or a Blu-Ray disc. Why? Because I won’t lose my job and in the long run, it will save me money (and my job).

