With graduation looming in May, I’m left to decide what the heck I’m going to do next. My degree in “Organizational Management” is nothing more than the official “Piece of Paper™” in Telecom, so I now need to decide what the heck I’m going to do. I think I’ve narrowed it down to three choices.
#1. Nothing. Just stay at home and concentrate on the kids. Not my favorite since they all want to concentrate on themselves or ones that are the opposite sex. Don’t get me wrong, I want to do stuff with my kids, but after 21:00 they are all in bed and the wife is either watching TV or working. I’d like to do something to help my career, and to gain more knowledge in a field I know pretty well.
#2. Master’s Certificate in Telecom. University of Denver is offering an online post-grad certificate in Telecom. It’s not a Master Degree (that’s an extra $12,000), but it looks like if I change my mind early enough, I can move towards it.
#3. CCNA/CCIP. The Cisco certifications I used/want to have. That will help in work tremendously, but then again, cash and time.
I’m leaning towards #3, with #2 starting later this year or possibly spring semester. At least that seems to be the most sane route at this point…

