Living with ADHD children is always entertaining….tonight is no exception.
When it comes to homework, most kids just want to get through it and be done with it. Except for a couple of ours. They will write anything (and I mean anything) down just to fill in the paper and say “Its Done!”. Except of course when mom and I read it and find out that the capital of Estonia is “I like Unicorns”.
Tonight Tyler was doing his science homework and for the last half hour, we went through each sentence in a paragraph debating on why that sentence was not the answer. Here’s an example.
Tyler: I CAN’T DO THIS!
Me: Yes you can, what is the question?
Tyler: WHY do PLANTS someTIMES have THICK STEMS?!
Me: OK, and what does the paragraph say?
Tyler: I DON’T KNOW!
Me: Well, maybe you should read it.
Tyler: OH MY GOD, I HAVE TO READ THE WHOLE THING (ed: paragraph is four sentences long).
Me: Yes, that’s your homework, you need to read it.
Tyler; OH MY GOD, JUST FORGET IT, I’LL TAKE THE “F”.
Me: No you won’t. You will do this homework and if you don’t, it will be waiting for you in the morning.
(insert 20 minutes of the same argument, of which I’ve walked away three times from his crap)
Me: Tyler, it’s simple. Do it. You have wasted 20 minutes of play time complaining about the home work when you could have had it done!
Tyler: FINE, but I DON’T WANT TO!
Me; Finally, thank you.
(insert 30 seconds of writng the correct answer down).
On to Question #2.
Tyler: OH MY GOD!!!! MORE QUESTIONS!!!!!!!!!

