So now that the “Piece of Paper”© is complete, the next step is what to do for my Masters work. Originally, I was looking at getting my degree in Telecommunications from the University of Denver, but after some deep thought I have essentially ruled it out. The problem with getting a degree in Telecommunications is that it is quite redundant for what I’ve done over the past fifteen years. It’s like Eddie Van halen getting a degree in guitar performance from Berklee School of Music (not that I am the Eddie Van Halen of telecom, more like Michael Anthony graduating from Fred’s Music Barn).
So now I am seriously looking at an MBA program since:
a). If I seriously want to look at getting into a directors position, I’m going to have to have some sort of advanced degree.
b). There is enough of a critical mass of programs so they are somewhat easy to attend.
I have seriously also through about the whole “get another degree in Comp Sci” but in my field, that’s like getting a degree in Sanskrit, a four thousand year old dead language. And the only programs around here are “traditional” ones which means six+ years of crap to get another B.S.
So now my dilemma. I have at this point whittled down the choices to two programs. The first would be through Taylor University, the second would be at Purdue University. Here are the choices.
Taylor is much closer, offers a shorter overall schedule (16 months as opposed to 36 at Purdue), and is almost half the price (around 21k).
Purdue is much more prestigious, is a longer drive (think too far to drive home each night), and will cost around 36k.
Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not overtly thrilled about getting an MBA, but I also know that if someone is going to take me seriously in my job, I need to get it. I also know that what I would love to do is highly unlikely since I highly suck at Calculus.
Taylor looks like the winner, but since I’m not planning on starting full time until early 2007, I have some time to think about it. Ideas anyone?
Oh, and if any of you would like to donate to the “send Brian to college” program, please let me know and I’ll put up a tip jar. 😉

