catharsis |kəˈθärsis|
noun
1 the process of releasing, and thereby providing relief from, strong or repressed emotions.
I know some people don’t like to hear about my weight loss and the other crap that goes on with my life. So I try to keep those pieces to a minimum on the social networks and other things. But today was one of those weird/special/unique moments that make you say “Hmm, maybe this was all worth it…”
To start with, I did my fastest walking mile EVER. 15:27.7. Not sure what caused it, but I was blazing past everyone; the seniors, the gym rats…pretty much everyone out there. Ended up doing my cool down lap backwards. 🙂
Next was the scale. I’ll put the number up here so you get an idea of where I’ve been. Today was 324.4. In January 2008 that number was 474.4. Down 150 pounds from two years, ten months ago. Of course that includes a failed attempt to get a lap band, the idea that I could do this on my own, and then realizing (in my best Fred Sanford voice) “you big dummy…you can’t do this on your own…”.
Third was the large bundle of clothes in the back of my truck. I ended up dumping a large laundry basket of very large clothes. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have to shop in the “Large & Tubby” section and may have to the rest of my life. But I don’t have to buy everything from a certain store anymore. I don’t have to pay an obnoxious amount of money for a pair of jeans.
Now I know about three months ago I was really starting to regret this. The second day after surgery was really f’ing tough. Some people who have had then gas crap I had post surgery said it was “worse than labor”. But today, now that I have lost 82 lbs since surgery, 150 since I started this mess, and a ton of clothes out the door….it’s starting to look like it was worth it.

